The World Car of the Year awards are run by a jury of automotive journalists from all of the world with the panel including 3 journo’s from Australia: Joshua Dowling, Paul Glover and Greg Kable. Although all the journalists are linked to Magazines, Newspapers and Websites the jurors are not influenced or affiliated with any publications, auto shows or automakers.

This ensures that the credibility, integrity and objectivity of the awards are maintained across a number of different categories like Green, Luxury, Performance and Design. Here is a list of the eligible vehicles for Overall World Car of the Year 2016:

Prius 2016

  • Audi A4
  • BMW X1
  • Cadillac CT6
  • Chevrolet Malibu
  • Ford Edge
  • Honda HR-V
  • Hyundai Creta
  • Hyundai Tucson
  • Jaguar XE
  • Kia Optima
  • Land Rover Discovery Sport
  • Mazda CX-3
  • Mazda MX-5Audi A4
  • Mercedes-Benz GLC
  • Nissan Maxima
  • Opel Astra
  • Skoda Superb
  • SSangYong Tivoli
  • Subaru Levorg
  • Subaru Outback
  • Toyota Prius
  • Volkswagen Touran

To be eligible the vehicles must be new (of course) and available for sale on at least two continents between January 1 2015 and May 31 2016. The cars go through rigorous testing by jurors as they test each car. The top three finalists are named at the 2016 Geneva Motor Show before the winners are announced later that month at New York’s Auto Show.

Last year’s winners were:

  • Mercedes-Benz C-Class – World
  • Mercedes S-Class – Luxury
  • Mercedes-AMG GT – Performance
  • BMW i8 – Green
  • Citroën C4 Cactus – Design